The Game

Released: June 30th, 1980
Recorded: June-July 1979, and February-May 1980 at Musicland Studios in Munich, Germany
Genre: Rock
Length: 35:39
Label: EMI, Parlophone (UK), Elektra, Hollywood (US)
Producer: Queen, Mack

·         Freddie Mercury: lead vocals, piano, backing vocals, guitar, synthesizer ·         Brian May: electric, acoustic, &12-string guitars, piano, lead vocals, backing vocals, synthesizer
·         Roger Taylor: drums, electronic drums, guitar, lead vocals, backing vocals, synthesizer
·         John Deacon: bass, guitar, piano
·         Mack: additional synthesizers

Crazy Little Thing Called Love, released October 5th, 1979
Save Me, released January 25th, 1980
Play the Game, released May 30th, 1980
Another One Bites the Dust, released August 22nd, 1980
Need Your Loving Tonight, released November, 1980 (US & Japan)

Interesting Facts:
This album was the first Queen album to feature synthesizers. Roger Taylor was apparently the one who persuaded the others.

Track Listing:
Side One:
1.       Play the Game (Mercury)—3:30
2.       Dragon Attack (May)—4:18
3.       Another One Bites the Dust (Deacon)—3:35
4.       Need Your Loving Tonight (Deacon)—2:50
5.       Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Mercury)—2:44
Side Two:
1.       Rock It (Prime Jive) (Taylor)—4:33
2.       Don’t Try Suicide (Mercury)—3:52
3.       Sail Away Sweet Sister (To the Sister I Never Had) (May)—3:33
4.       Coming Soon (Taylor)—2:51
5.       Save Me (May)—3:50
1991 Hollywood Record Bonus Tracks
1.       Dragon Attack (1991 remix by Jack Benson and R.A.K.)—4:23

back to top