Sheer Heart Attack

Released: November 8th, 1974
Recorded: July- September 1974 at Air Studios, Rockfield, Trident, Wessex
Genre: Rock
Length: 39:09
Label: EMI, Parlophone (UK), Elektra, Hollywood (US)
Producer: Roy Thomas Baker, Queen

·         Freddie Mercury: Vocals, piano, Jangle piano
·         Brian May: guitars, backing vocals, piano, ukulele, banjo, lead vocals on “She Makes Me”
·         Roger Taylor: drums, percussion, backing vocals, lead vocal on “Tenement Funster”, screams on “In the Laps of the Gods”
·         John Deacon: bass guitars, acoustic guitars, rhythm guitar, electric guitar, all guitars on “Misfire”, Double-bass on “Bring Back That Leroy Brown”

Killer Queen/Flick of the Wrist, released October 11th, 1974
Now I’m Here, released January 17th, 1975

Interesting Facts:
The song “Brighton Rock” tells the story of two young lovers meeting in Brighton on a public holiday. Jenny cannot linger because she is afraid her mother will find out "how I spent my holiday", but afterwards "writes a letter every day"; Jimmy, eager on the day, is not so happy with her "nothing can my love erase": now he is the one afraid of discovery by "my lady". The song was originally intended to be a duet but Freddie Mercury ended up doing both female and male parts of the vocals.
"Brighton Rock" borrows it's named from a Grham Greene novel as well as the renowned stick of seaside confectionary.
Drummer Roger Taylor was not satisfied with his hair on the original photograph, so the photographer Mick Rock used fake extensions, much to the band's amusement.

Track Listing:
Side One:
1.       Brighton Rock (May)—5:08
2.       Killer Queen (Mercury)—3:01
3.       Tenement Funster (Taylor)—2:48
4.       Flick of the Wrist (Mercury)—3:19
5.       Lily of the Valley (Mercury)—1:43
6.       Now I’m Here (May)—4:10
Side Two:
1.       In the Laps of the Gods (Mercury)—3:20
2.       Stone Cold Crazy (Queen)—2:12
3.       Dear Friends (May)—1:07
4.       Misfire (Deacon)—1:50
5.       Bring Back That Leroy Brown (Mercury)—2:13
6.       She Makes Me (Stormtroopers in Stilettos) (May)—4:08
7.       In the Laps of the Gods… Revisited (Mercury)—3:42
1991 Hollywood Record Bonus Tracks
1.       Stone Cold Crazy (1991 remix by Michael Wagener)
back to top