Released: July 13th, 1973
Recorded: 1971-1972 at Trident Studios & De Lane Lea Studios
Genre: Rock
Length: 38:36
Label: EMI, Parlophone (UK), Elektra, Hollywood (US)
Producer: John Anthony, Roy Thomas Baker, Queen

·         Freddie Mercury: lead and backing vocals, piano
·         Brian May: electric guitar, acoustic guitar, backing vocals, piano on “Doing   All Right”
·         John Deacon: bass guitar
·         Roger Taylor: drums, backing vocals, lead vocals on “Modern Times Rock n Roll”, percussion
·         John Anthony: producer, backing vocals on “Modern Times Rock n Roll”
·         Roy Thomas Baker: producer, sound engineer
·         Mike Stone: sound engineer
·         Ted Sharpe: sound engineer

Keep Yourself Alive, released July 6th 1973
Liar, released February 14th, 1974 (US only)

Interesting Facts:
On the album sleeve, John is credited as Deacon John, because Mercury & Taylor thought this would make him sound more interesting.
According to what May said in a radio special about their 1977 album News of the World, he had penned the lyrics for "Keep Yourself Alive", thinking of them as ironic and tongue-in-cheek, but their sense was completely changed when Freddie Mercury sang them.
Before writing “My Fairy King”, Mercury was known as Freddie Bulsara, and this song is said to have inspired him to change his surname. Its lyrics contain a verse with the words "Mother Mercury, look what they've done to me." Brian May has said that after the line was written, Freddie claimed he was singing about his mother. Subsequently, Freddie Bulsara took the stage name Freddie Mercury.
Roger suggested "Top Fax, Pix and Info" for the title of the album, and Roy Thomas Baker suggested "Deary Me". Obviously both we turned down.
"Doin' All Right" was one of the few Queen songs to feature Brian on piano.
The track "Mad the Swine" wasn't included on the record due to an argument betweeeen Queen and producer Roy Thomas Baker over percussion sounds.

Track Listing:
Side One:
1.       Keep Yourself Alive (May)—3:46
2.       Doing All Right (May, Staffell)—4:09
3.       Great King Rat (Mercury)—5:42
4.       My Fairy King (Mercury)—4:07
Side Two:
1.       Liar (Mercury)—6:26
2.       The Night Comes Down (May)—4:23
3.       Modern Times Rock n Roll (Taylor)—1:48
4.       Son and Daughter (May)—3:20
5.       Jesus (Mercury)—3:44
6.       Seven Seas of Rhye [Instrumental] (Mercury)—1:06
1991 Hollywood Record Bonus Tracks
1.       Made the Swine (Mercury)—3:21
2.       Keep Yourself Alive (‘Long Lost Re-take)—4:04
3.       Liar (1991, Remix by John Luongo & Gary Hellman)—6:26
return to top